Doctoral school management

The Doctoral School has a two-tier management structure: (1) the Doctoral School  itself with two co-directors and an advisory board; (2) the four departments, each managed by two co-directors and an advisory board

The BioSPC Doctoral School is managed by two co-directors, one is a representative of  Université Paris Descartes and the other is a representative of  Université Paris Diderot. They are each named by the President of their respective universities. The length of their mandate is the same as the university contract, namely five years. They are assisted by a Doctoral School Council composed of members described in the 7th August 2006 decree. The two co-directors are in charge of the strategic plan of the Doctoral School and they present an annual progress report to the Doctoral School Council and to the university scientific councils. 

Each department is managed by two co-directors representing the two accrediting universities, assisted by an advisory board. Each department has an advisory board. The department missions are:

  • Registration and management of the PhD students
  • Organization of the competition for the selection of the doctoral candidates (scholarships)
  • Organization of the mid-term auditions
  • Jury and thesis defense authorization
  • Follow-up of the professional integration of newly graduated PhDs
  • Selection of the candidates for specific calls requiring a Doctoral School Ranking
  • Follow-up of the PhD students encountering difficulties with their thesis director. If necessary an external mediator is appointed by one of the co-directors